Established in 1963 in an area of farmland in the suburb of Avonhead in the North West of Christchurch, the Burnside Bowling
Club is located 3 km from Christchurch International Airport and 7 km from the city centre. The Club is situated in the 30
hectare Burnside Park which is also home to rugby, football, cricket, touch football, tennis and squash clubs.

Play began in 1964 on the first of the three present-day greens. Initially separate men's and women's clubs shared the
facilities but in 1998 Burnside became an amalgamated club. Today its 250 members make it the largest bowling club of the
58 clubs in the Bowls Canterbury Centre and indeed in the South Island.

The three 36.6m x 36.6m maniototo weed greens are surrounded by attractive gardens with a central, large and welcoming
club house which has separate dining room and lounge bar facilities. These features are complemented by a willing and skilled
volunteer base and together the greens, facilities and volunteer group have made Burnside a focal point in attracting national
and international events to Christchurch.

Canterbury clubs are blessed with excellent greens and Burnside’s have set the standard for New Zealand conditions. These
greens have been nurtured and developed by national award winning green keepers Ken Prebble (1987-2009) and Glen
Miller (2009 – present) to a level where many overseas players rate them among the best playing surfaces in the world. They
have always received the highest praise for their consistency, pace and true line to the jack.
Since 2000 Burnside has been the headquarters for three National Championships and several Bowls New Zealand
intercentre championships and regional events as well as Centre championships and representative matches.

In the last decade the immaculate greens have hosted several international test matches including those against Australia,
Ireland, Scotland, Malaysia, and South Africa.

The Club successfully hosted World Bowls 2008 and before that the Asia Pacific Championship 2007. Burnside will once more
be the headquarters for the World Bowls Championships in November 2016. This pinnacle event will again be shared with
neighbouring clubs Fendalton and Bowls Papanui. In the lead up to World Bowls a series of international events has graced
the greens and tested the organisational systems, volunteers and facilities – World Bowls Singles Champion of Champions
2013, Trans-Tasman Tests 2015 and 2016, Asia Pacific Championship 2015 and the Six Nations Championship 2016 – all
passed with enhanced reputations.
The Club celebrated its 50th Jubilee in February 2014. The Jubilee book is reproduced here for anyone seeking information
about Burnside. Just click on the sections that interest you.

Pages 1-2       Messages; In the Beginning   
Pages 3-8       In the Beginning continued; the Second 25 Years 1988-2015; The Burnside Women’s Bowling Club
Pages 9-18     Amalgamation 1998; the Fifth Decade: World Bowls 2008
Pages 19-28   Club Officials 1964-2013; Club Champions; Bowls Competitions
Pages 29-38   Special Events; Coaching; Umpires; Members’ Achievements
Pages 39-48   Centre Representatives; National Awards; Players of the Year; Internationals; Greens
Pages 49-58   Infrastructure; Gardens; Bar; Catering; Works; Planning; Social; Finance; Bridge;
                      Art@Burnside; Walking Groups x 2
Pages 59-65   Epilogue (Dec. 2013-Jan. 2014); Membership List 2013-14; Logo; Compilers
Any club is dependent on its members and their enjoyment of the game. Burnside offers a full range of competitive and social
bowls to suit any age group, experience, level of ability or interest. The Club values all its members. Among the membership
past and present are several New Zealand champions including Stewart Buttar, Bruce McNish, Kevin Gore, Mike Small, Olivia
Davids (schools), Nick Buttar, Andrew Todd, Jo Edwards, Tayla Bruce (club), Mandy Boyd, Angela Boyd and Mike Reynolds
(disabled bowls). Dozens of others have won Centre titles or have been in winning intercentre teams.

The Club has also contributed numerous Canterbury representatives in all forms of the game.

A number of players have worn both the Silver Fern and the Burnside shirt – 1994 Commonwealth Games medallists Stewart
Buttar and Bruce McNish, 2008 World Champions Jo Edwards and Andrew Todd, Serena Matthews, Development team
members Olivia Davids, Isaac Denny, Richard Hocking and Caitlyn Bassett, Bruce Wakefield (disabled bowls), Tayla Bruce,
Mandy Boyd and Angela Boyd. The Boyd sisters will represent the Black Jacks at World Bowls 2016.

In addition three National Coaches have coached New Zealand teams whilst being members of the Club – Bowls NZ Hall of
Fame inductee Stewart Buttar, Graeme Rees and Dave Edwards.

In 2008 and again in 2011 and 2012 Burnside was awarded the title – Bowls NZ Club of the Year.

The Burnside Bowling Club welcomes visitors at any time and casual players during the playing season. We have an excellent
set up for coaching new comers to the sport and new members of any experience will enjoy the ambience of this sporting club.
We look forward to meeting you.